Comparison
PacketMole vs KeepMyHomeIP
KeepMyHomeIP (also operated under the names FlashedRouter and KeepHomeIP) sells home-IP travel-router products starting at $199. So should you buy theirs over PacketMole? It depends almost entirely on one question: how much you care what hardware is actually in the box.
The short version
- We name our chips. They don't.PacketMole publishes exact router models (GL.iNet Brume 2 GL-MT2500A + Beryl AX GL-MT3000), the chipset (MediaTek MT7981B), RAM (512MB DDR4), and the FCC-listed manufacturer. Across KeepMyHomeIP's three storefronts and 50+ blog posts, zero router brands, model numbers, chipsets, or FCC IDs appear.
- One operator, three domains.KeepMyHomeIP shares ownership with FlashedRouter.com and KeepHomeIP.co. All three route through the same Big-Cartel checkout and the same blog at blog.flashedrouter.com. Independent verification on identity is harder when the same hardware is sold at three different prices across three different brand identities.
- Their cheapest tier is real money cheaper.They start at $199, undercutting PacketMole's $349. We're honest about that. The question is whether the hardware at $199 (or any of their tiers) matches what they imply it does — and they don't publish enough information to verify.
- WireGuard, not Tailscale.Both KeepMyHomeIP's own blog and FlashedRouter's product pages confirm they use WireGuard. Direct-inbound WireGuard may need port forwarding or a relay behind CGNAT — common on T-Mobile Home, Starlink, cellular hotspots, and many apartment networks. PacketMole's Tailscale-based approach can use DERP relays when a direct path is unavailable. Some of these storefronts advertise a paid relay add-on ($99–$144/yr); PacketMole does not charge a recurring relay fee.
Detailed comparison
| Feature | PacketMole | KeepMyHomeIP / FlashedRouter |
|---|---|---|
| Price (lowest tier) | $349 | $199 |
| Price (top tier) | $349 (single SKU) | $349 (Home Tunnel Kit) |
| Subscription | None from us | None advertised |
| Router model published | GL.iNet Brume 2 + Beryl AX (named) | Not disclosed |
| Chipset published | MediaTek MT7981B (named) | Not disclosed |
| RAM published | 512MB DDR4 (named) | Not disclosed |
| FCC ID published | Beryl AX: 2AFIW-MT3000 (GL Technologies HK); Brume 2: wired, no radio | Not disclosed — resells the OEM's certified hardware |
| VPN protocol | Tailscale (WireGuard + DERP relays) | WireGuard |
| CGNAT approach | Tailscale can use DERP relays | Direct WireGuard may need port forwarding or a relay |
| Hardware ownership | Standard GL.iNet hardware with PacketMole overlay | Custom flashed firmware |
| Vendor count | 1 vendor, 1 domain | 1 operator, 3 brand identities |
| Shipping | Free US (Florida) | US-based (NJ-area phone) |
| Returns | 30 days, $50 restocking fee | Per their policy |
The hardware-transparency thing
We did a fairly thorough audit. Across KeepMyHomeIP's storefront, FlashedRouter's storefront, KeepHomeIP.co, the shared Big-Cartel checkout, and 50+ blog posts at blog.flashedrouter.com, we couldn't find a single instance where they name the router model they ship. No manufacturer, no model number, no chipset, no FCC ID. Their product descriptions use generic specs (“dual-core, WiFi 6, 256MB”) without identifying which physical device those specs describe.
None of their storefronts publish an FCC ID or name the certified device they ship. That's consistent with reselling someone else's hardware — where the FCC grant stays with the original manufacturer, not the reseller. Reselling is fine; it's common; but it means they don't manufacture or modify their own hardware, which makes their refusal to disclose the OEM slightly more notable.
Even more interesting: one of FlashedRouter's own published blog posts is titled “The Case Against GL.iNet Routers,” in which they attack GL.iNet as “weak” hardware. That makes the question harder, not easier — if they don't ship GL.iNet, who do they ship? And if they do ship GL.iNet despite trashing it publicly, that's a different kind of problem.
PacketMole's answer is simpler: we ship the GL.iNet Brume 2 (GL-MT2500A) for the home gateway and the GL.iNet Beryl AX (GL-MT3000) for the travel router — GL.iNet's current-generation MediaTek lineup. The Beryl AX is a Wi-Fi 6 router, FCC ID 2AFIW-MT3000 (grantee: GL Technologies (Hong Kong) Limited); the Brume 2 is a wired-only gateway with no radio, so it carries no wireless FCC ID. We publish those exact model numbers because we're proud of them, and you can verify every one. We made that easy.
When KeepMyHomeIP might be the better choice
We'll be honest. KeepMyHomeIP / FlashedRouter make sense if:
- You want to pay less than $349.Their entry tier is $199. PacketMole is one fixed price. If saving $150 matters more than knowing what hardware you're getting, theirs is the cheaper option.
- You don't need CGNAT support.If your home internet is a regular cable/fiber connection with a public IPv4, WireGuard works fine and you don't need Tailscale's relay infrastructure.
When PacketMole is the better choice
- You want to know what hardware you're buying.We name our chips. They don't. That's the simplest version of the argument.
- You're on T-Mobile Home, Starlink, cellular, or apartment LAN.CGNAT can prevent direct-inbound WireGuard. PacketMole's Tailscale-based approach can use a DERP relay when a direct path is unavailable.
- You want to deal with one company, not a cluster of lookalikes.PacketMole is one company, one brand, one support email, one set of policies. KeepMyHomeIP / FlashedRouter / KeepHomeIP are three storefronts run by one operator, with overlapping price points and shared checkout infrastructure.
- You want hardware that survives the vendor.PacketMole uses standard GL.iNet hardware with a PacketMole software overlay. The hardware remains reusable, including by reflashing it, if you stop using PacketMole.
Ready to bring home with you?
$349 one-time. Free US shipping. Ships within 2 weeks. 30-day returns. Hardware we'll tell you about.
Secure checkout · Powered by Stripe
Note on accuracy: KeepMyHomeIP / FlashedRouter pricing and product info reflect their public storefronts at time of writing (September 2026). The shared-operator finding (FlashedRouter = KeepMyHomeIP = KeepHomeIP) is based on shared Big-Cartel checkout infrastructure, shared blog (blog.flashedrouter.com), and shared contact details. The hardware-transparency observations are based on their public storefronts and the FCC public database (fccid.io).
Have a correction or want to flag something we got wrong? Email hello@packetmole.com.